FRRR welcomes William Myer to the Board

Media releases: 6 March 2023

FRRR has announced the appointment of William Myer to its Board. William is the representative of the Sidney Myer Fund, one of the founding partners of FRRR, alongside the Australian Government.

Replacing Patrick Myer, William brings 10 years of experience in the financial services, family office and fintech industries. He is currently the Head of Analytics & Client Services for Australia and New Zealand with Bloomberg Australia.

FRRR Chairman, Tim Fairfax AC, said that the Myer family has played an important role in shaping the identity of FRRR as an organisation.

“The Sidney Myer Fund helped to establish FRRR and we continue to have a representative helping to guide our activities. William brings a valuable skillset to the board and his background in financial management and client services will help to ensure we continue to serve remote, rural and regional Australia in the most effective and practical ways possible.

“I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank Patrick Myer, William’s predecessor, for his long service on the FRRR board and his commitment to enhancing the lives of those living outside urban areas. Paddy took a particular interest in programs supporting youth and I know that his legacy in that area will continue,” said Mr Fairfax AC.

On being appointed to the board, William said, “I have a deep respect for FRRR and the way they have been able to bring so many philanthropic and corporate partners together to support remote, rural and regional Australia. FRRR’s unique approach in supporting community-led conversations and processes genuinely help to build long-term viability and recovery from the ground up,” said Mr Myer.

In addition to Tim Fairfax AC and William Myer, the other members of FRRR’s board include:

  • Anne Grindrod, Deputy Chair
  • Georgie Somerset AM
  • Annabel F. White
  • Bruce Scott OAM
  • Sue Middleton
  • Andrew McKenzie JP
  • Hon. Simon Crean
  • Hon. John Sharp AM
  • James Flintoft
  • David Mackay (Australian Government representative)